top of page



The International Day of Light is a worldwide initiative that provides an annual focal point for the continued appreciation of light and the role it plays in science, culture and art, education and sustainable development, and in fields as diverse as medicine, communications and energy. 


The International Day of Light is administered from the International Basic Science Programme (IBSP) of UNESCO by a Steering Committee that includes representatives from a broad range of international partners: The American Institute of Physics (AIP), the American Physical Society (APS), Chinese Optical Society (COS), the European Centres for Outreach in Photonics (ECOP), the European Photonics Industry Consortium (EPIC), the European Physical Society (EPS), the Illuminating Engineering Society (IES), the International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP), the IEEE Photonics Society (IPS),  the International Commission on Illumination (CIE), - the international network of accelerator based light sources, Light: Science and Applications, Optica (formerly OSA), Scholitt Lighting Technology, P.R. China, SESAME, Signify, SPIE, the International Society for Optics and Photonics, Tampere University, Thorlabs, the Université de Franche-Comté and Velux. 


John Dudley, Joseph Niemela
IDL 2024 Steering Committee Chairs
Geethu Paulose
IDL Communications Coordinator

bottom of page